Tell Me How Stupid I Am?!?!

Show us that box of bits in your shed!
the_bard
Smoker

Tell Me How Stupid I Am?!?!

Post by the_bard »

Hi complete noob on the forum but i've owned a KR-1S for about 15 months now (my first bike btw). When i bought it the bloke i got it off gave me a bunch of spares including a nearly complete spare engine the only things its missing are the kickstarter the clutch cover and the water pump cover. Now comes the stupid bit... I'm getting in to casting aluminium. And the engine on my bike atm, whilst running fine, i believe needs some serious gasket work (well the gearbox does leaking a bit of oil from the right and left) so i'm going to try casting my own spares from the origanals on the working engine when i pull it apart to replace the gaskets...
Slightly crazy you think...
Now comes the really stupid bit.
why not do a proper job of it and make myself some new cylinders and pistons but wait for it, increase the bore by about 1.549X thereby making my baby a kickarse KR600-1S... I do realise that I would probably have to modify the crankcase as well to do this but I just wanted everyones opinion on this.
I probably should also point out that I absolutly love to try to run before i can even bloody stand up...
ScottaKR
Premix Junkie

Post by ScottaKR »

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
I think trying to make a 600 out of a 250 is a bit too extreme (would be awsome if possible though :twisted: ).
Maybe a 350 or 400 (like the 428cc Cheetah kit for YPVS motors) could be more feasable (without haveing to mod the cases too much), and youd probably have a few people wanting to buy kits for their bikes. The other thing youll have to watch would be your port timings which may need to be altered to suit the engines new characteristics. You could even look into a more modern port layout.