Engine stripping and rebuilding advice

Twangled your powervalve grommit in your woodruff key? ask someone how to fix it here
nate
Heavy Smoker

Engine stripping and rebuilding advice

Post by nate »

Hi all,

Ok now that the pesky carbs are sorted, my bike is complete

So, my next job is to look at my spare engine. Its a KR-1S engine and my plans for it are

1) strip and check bearings, barrels, stuff like that

2) tune it a little following MJ's advice and piccies

3) give it a damn good clean

4) Maybe have the cylinders skimmed so they are the same height like PB did to there little KR

However, I have never done anything like this before, and am terrified of snapping PV's and generally screwing up a perfectly good engine. Though I like learning as I go and have a good amount of common sense and the tools and garage to do it in...

Anybody got any advice on specific areas to watch out for?

Should I start with taking off the cylinders and then go from there.... or start else where?

cheers

Nate
mgtkr1
Premix Junkie

Post by mgtkr1 »