Recommended grey importers for a KR250

The place to talk about your Tandem!
Hawk
Heavy Smoker

Recommended grey importers for a KR250

Post by Hawk »

Can anyone recommend me good grey importers?

I am looking for a KR250 and all I have found so far are the 2 on ebay - one being overpriced and the other being damaged and overpriced IMO!
StrokerBoy
Premix Junkie

Re: Recommended grey importers for a KR250

Post by StrokerBoy »

It's been a long time since I imported a bike direct from Japan, and the importers I used are no longer in business (shame, 'cos they were great). I've got no experience of any of the current importers. I've been watching KR's advertised on Ebay and elsewhere for years, there are some questionable bikes (missing parts, wrong paint, mix-and-match models) and also some daft prices being asked. That's not to say that you shouldn't buy one like that, it depends what you want.

I have a garage full of oddball grey-import bikes, and my advice is this : the best bikes are rarely advertised for sale. When I say 'best', I don't necessarily mean the highest quality or originality, I mean the one you should buy, because it's sensibly priced and has known history with a loving owner. Cool bikes change hands all the time, with little fuss, at realistic prices, via word of mouth. Ask around at bike shows, on here, on other forums, and one will turn up. Dealers and Ebay are the 2 worst places to find sensibly-priced bikes.

My opinion of the two currently advertised on Ebay :

The red/grey one looks nice, but it's hard to tell from those crappy photos. It's advertised as an 'S' but that paint scheme is from a non-S model. Can't tell from the blurry pic whether it has an 'S' motor or not, I suspect not. It's a lot of money, but if you want one in those super-rare colours you'll struggle to find another. Silencer heatshield is present (often go missing), can't see any obvious flaws.