NO SPARKS

Dodgy Kips motor? CDI? battery? diode? reg/rect? its all gobbledygook to me but some people understand it ask tham a question here
NOSHER
Heavy Smoker

NO SPARKS

Post by NOSHER »

Hi All--i`ve suddenly lost all my ignition sparks---bike was running in garage and began to rev up and down on its own with a fixed throttle and then stopped running--thats the last time it would start two weeks ago.
been running through the manual trying to prove out power from the battery and have 12v to the orange cable on the cdi unit---what colours come back out and to where please?
stator and pickup coil proved out ok in spec along with the ignition coil and ht leads but what part does the diode play-i get 300 ohms on all pins one way but zero on all pairs in reverse.
i have also put on an extra earth lead from engine to frame --still nothing.
I am no electrician---any assistance pleeeeease ?
YOU GET MORE POKES WITH TWOSTROKES !!

KRI
CBR250RR
CBR400RR NC23
vfr400 nc30
alimorg
Site Admin

Post by alimorg »

Have you tested your sidestand switch?
Cheers
AL
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. " - Douglas Adams
NOSHER
Heavy Smoker

Post by NOSHER »

hi there--don`t have a sidestand switch--its been looped out on the loom connector since i`ve had it--never been a problem.
i`ve also lost red and green dash lights.

KRI
CBR250RR
CBR400RR NC23
vfr400 nc30
alimorg
Site Admin

Post by alimorg »

Ah right then check the connector under the engine, that sometimes causes flakey instument lights
Cheers
AL
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. " - Douglas Adams
NOSHER
Heavy Smoker

Post by NOSHER »

al-when you say connector under the engine do you mean the neutral switch with the green wire attached?

KRI
CBR250RR
CBR400RR NC23
vfr400 nc30
JanBros
Avgas Sniffer

Post by JanBros »